Watch live today! Slooh webcasts the ‘Super Pink Moon’ @ 7:30 pm ET
Nature & Science

Watch live today! Slooh webcasts the ‘Super Pink Moon’ @ 7:30 pm ET

To learn more and explore space, visit Slooh.com.

Astronomers with the Slooh online observatory will stream live views of the “Super Pink Moon” in a free webcast today (April 7) at 7:30 p.m. EDT (2330 GMT), and you can watch it live in the window above, courtesy of Slooh.

The “Super Pink Moon” will be the largest “supermoon” of 2020. That’s because the moon reaches perigee, or the closest point to Earth in its elliptical orbit, on the same day as the full moon. Known as the “Pink Moon,” the full moon of April occurs today at 10:35 p.m. EDT (0235 GMT on April 8), just a few hours after the moon reaches perigee at 2:08 p.m. EDT (1808 GMT).

During the webcast, Slooh astronomer Paul Cox and his guests will discuss the science of the supermoon while showing live views from Slooh’s telescopes at the Institute of Astrophysics of the Canary Islands and in Chile.

Read more:

A comparison of the apparent size of a perigee moon, or

A comparison of the apparent size of a perigee moon, or “supermoon,” and an apogee moon (“minimoon”) as seen through Slooh’s Half Meter Telescope at its Canary Islands Observatory in 2015. (Image credit: Slooh)

From Slooh:

Slooh’s next mission is to livestream the second, and largest, in a trilogy of Supermoons — the Super Pink Moon on Tuesday, April 7th at 7:30 PM EDT. 

Hosted by Chief Astronomical Officer Paul Cox, our team of experts and educators, including renowned astronomy author and journalist Bob Berman, will discuss the Supermoon. 

They will also introduce Slooh’s new educational Quests, where students collect images of phenomena in space, research-related information, analyze their data and draw conclusions in a series of self-directed learning activities that culminate in the creation of their own personalized infographic featuring their images.

Viewers will be able to snap their own photos of the supermoon from Slooh’s live telescopes located at the Institute of Astrophysics of the Canary Islands and in Chile!

Event Details

Event Timing for Tuesday, April 7th, 2020:

Live Stream Commences: 7:30 PM EDT ¦ 23:30UTC

Live Stream Ends: 8:30 PM EDT ¦ 00:30UTC

TO WATCH Slooh’s live coverage:

https://www.slooh.com/shows/video-viewer/644

SHARE the Facebook Live event from Slooh’s Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/SloohLive/

Editor’s note: If you snap an amazing night sky photo and would like to share it with Space.com for a story or photo gallery, send comments and images to spacephotos@space.com. 

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.